MCAC All-State baseball honors

MCAC All-State baseball honors

Rochester, Mn-

As the 2017 Minnesota College Athletic Conference baseball season wraps up in St. Cloud with the NJCAA Region XIII tournament, MCAC baseball coaches took pause to recognize the top players across all three divisions.  The 2017 MCAC All-State baseball team is as follows:

  • Ricky Garcia,  St. Cloud Technical & Community College 
  • Matt Quade,  St. Cloud Technical & Community College                                          
  • Blake Fetting,  Northland Community & Technical College 
  • Jonathon Sodergren,  St. Cloud Technical & Community College                           
  • Tyler Anderson,  Minnesota State Fergus Falls 
  • Nik Ganser,  Central Lakes College
  • Andrew Black, Rainy River Community College
  • Louis Gerzin,  Vermilion Community College
  • Teo Rangel,  Mesabi Range College
  • Cody Carpenter,  Rainy River Community College
  • Nick Johnson,  Itasca Community College 
  • Isaac Rodriquez,  Itasca Community College
  • Jake Hansen,  Anoka Ramsey Community College
  • Eric Pachero,  Minnesota West Community & Technical College
  • Hunter Brush,  Western Technical College
  • Mason Ruhlman, Riverland Community College
  • Tyler Moua,  Western Technical College
  • Jake Erickson,  Riverland Community College

The 18-player MCAC All-State team was voted on the head baseball coaches of the Minnesota College Athletic Conference.   The MCAC baseball season will conclude today, Monday, May 22, with Riverland Community College needing a two-game sweep of Century College to earn an automatic bid to the 2017 NJCAA Division III Baseball World Series. 

Other Minnesota College Athletic Conference acheivements of note during the 2017 baseball season include: 

Divisional Coaches-of-the-Year: Justin Lamppa, Itasca CC (Northern), Jason Fischer SCTCC (Central) and Scott Koenigs, Riverland (Southern). 

Regular Season Division Champions: Minnesota West, 14-2 in Southern Division :  SCTCC, 15-1 in Central Division : Itasca CC, 15-1 in Northern Division 

Region XIII Tournament Participants: Itasca Community College, Rainy River Community College, Mesabi Range College, St. Cloud Technical & Community College, Ridgewater College, Minnnesota West Community & Technical College and Riverland Community College. 

For final MCAC stats, standings, records and more, please visit:

Story courtesy of MCAC Sports, photo courtesy of Austin Daily Herald